Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Schools & centres

Research schools

The ANU College of Business & Economics is home to four major research schools, responsible for both research and teaching in their respective disciplines.

Research School of Accounting & Business Information Systems (RSABIS)

The Research School of Accounting and Information Systems (ABIS) has a world-class reputation for research and education. Recognised for our outstanding teaching programs and excellence in research training and supervision, we provide a rich and rewarding environment for undergraduate and postgraduate students wanting to excel as researchers and professionals. Our academic staff are dedicated researchers, committed to outstanding teaching that is informed by leading research.

The Director of RSABIS is Professor Juliana Ng.

Research School of Economics (RSE)

The Research School of Economics was created in 2010 by merging the former School of Economics, the Economics Program in the Research School of Social Sciences and the Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis. Uniting these institutes has created a group of scholars with expertise across economic theory, econometrics and applied economic modeling. RSE members contribute extensively to research at the international level, and to economic policy debates within Australia and our region. 

The Director of RSABIS is Professor Rabee Tourky 

Research School of Finance, Actuarial Studies & Applied Statistics (RSFAS)

The Research School of Finance, Actuarial Studies and Applied Statistics has responsibility for undergraduate teaching specialising in applied statistics, business statistics, corporate finance, financial management, investments and actuarial studies. The School also offers an extensive complement of graduate coursework programs across the key disciplines. Research interests include theoretical and applied research in medical, social and business statistics, time series analysis, survey methods, computer-intense analysis, corporate finance, market microstructure, financial management and actuarial science.

The Director of RSFAS is Associate Professor Steven Roberts.

Research School of Management (RSM)

The Research School of Management is responsible for teaching undergraduate and postgraduate courses in management, marketing, and international business, and graduate research in the associated. The management program provides students with the conceptual, analytical and practical skills to assist public and private sector organisations address a range of complex challenges. The marketing program combines aspects of economics, psychology/sociology and statistical analysis in the assessment of customer behaviour and the development of appropriate value exchanges.

The Director of RSM is Professor Pam Morrison.


The centres within the ANU College of Business & Economics perform vital research functions and conduct a variety of research projects, with many members seen as leaders in the advancement of research in their fields.

The Australian National Centre for Audit and Assurance Research (ANCAAR)

The Centre for Economic History (CEH)

The National Centre for Information Systems Research (NCISR)

Updated: 16 April 2014 /Responsible Officer: Dean, Business & Economics /Page Contact: College Web Team